Waving goodbye to sleep

No sleeping here...

It’s been six days since my last blog post – and the reason is this. I’m tired. Not just your average, “oh I’ve had a hard day at work” tired, or the good tired you get after a proper work out – but total exhausting, mental tiredness, that only comes after you have a baby.

In the first few months it was expected, and the hourly wakings were almost bearable. Then Ethan started sleeping through the night and everything was wonderful – for a while.

Now, it’s a lottery. Some nights he’ll tease us by sleeping a full twelve hours, only to then give us complete hell for the next two nights.

In the morning, althought bleary eyed, he will maintain energy levels similar to that of a toddler on Red Bull.

A few months back I was encouraging him to crawl. Now I wish he would sit still.

But it’s not all bad. Yesterday I spoke to another mum who was so happy – she’d had her first full night’s sleep in three-and-a-half years.

As I write this Ethan is screaming at me. It would seem he is tired.

Thanks for your comment and remember to follow this blog!

