One more reason to be thrifty

20120104-191428.jpg

Today I finally handed in a letter that will undoubtedly change the course of my future and will add pressure to the family finances, on top of the added costs of having a baby, and of course this recession business that everyone is harping on about still!
It was a massive deal. I handed in my resignation.
For the past four years I have worked with some wonderful people – you know who you are – and witnessed great talent from my reporter colleagues in my role as news editor with Mid Somerset News and Media.
Having been a writer by trade for eight years and having worked hard to get to where I was, it was not a decision taken lightly, but remember that resolution to spend as much time as possible with Ethan? Well, that’s pretty much the main reason.
So now it’s a case of tightening belts, in the money sense, (although I wish I could tighten my own belt a little more!) cutting back on those little luxuries we can do without and making do where possible.
You thought I’d taken up knitting as a hobby – it’s so I can knit my own socks and make you all knitted gifts rather than buy presents!
It’s not all bad – I’m relishing a change, learning new things and seeing what the future brings. Sometimes I guess you just have to make the leap. Wish me luck, and to those that I have worked with, I’ll miss you.

2 thoughts on “One more reason to be thrifty

  1. I can totally understand your decision and applaud you for embracing your priorities in such a way.
    Going back to work was, frankly, awful. It was physically painful. I was the first person in decades to be pregnant there and wasn’t treated particularly well. I would cry every day. One day I’ll tell you about the ‘nursing’ incident. It was terrible and treated like a joke (still is, to be honest), yet for me it was mortifying. Should never have happened.
    You are totally pulled in different ways. My children have always been my number one priority but there is very little understanding of that.
    While I only worked two days a week, the impact on the other days was immense. It sounds cushy telling people you work two days but they don’t comprehend the amount of time it takes to get organised for the two days etc.
    The stress is unbelievable. Juggling became the skill that was practised the most, when at a time when Rosie was five months old, it should have been motherhood.
    Someone said to me: work makes for a cold bedfellow and I think it should also be: work makes for a poor parent. There is no substitute for the time you now have with Ethan.
    You are such a professional and a brilliant and sensitive boss. That won’t go away. You can pick that up (or transfer your numerous skills) WHEN it’s right for you and Ethan.
    I wish you nothing but luck and love and know you’ll have nothing to regret with this decision.
    But I’ll miss working with you.
    X

Thanks for your comment and remember to follow this blog!

