Six months later…..

OK, so I know a delay of six months is unforgiveable in blog world – but I was just getting started when I went and had a baby (he’s here on the left – Ethan, that is).

The good news is that in that time, not only has my crochet improved -thank goodness – and I now have a random crochet square blanket, but I have also learnt to knit – my new passion.

Of course, being a new mum with hours on my hands, according to my husband, has given me the perfect opportunity to start up a new knitting club – which is just starting to take off. I’m thinking something along the lines of knit and natter, knit and chat, or my personal favourite “stitch and bitch”. So far there are only 3 active knitting club members, with another 3 ready to come along and taste the next session when I hope it really gets going.

A handy knitting lesson from my good friends Lyndsey Mayhew and Nicola Burnett at The Makery,   based in Bath’s Walcot Street, proved just what my crafty self needed for my 30th birthday, this sparked the knitting enthusiasm- and now my knitting fingers are on fire!

Three hours of learning how to cast on and off and knitting and purling was great fun, and I’ve already created knitted beads, a baby bootee – just the one so far (!) and as it’s 11/11/11 today, and lest we forget – I’ve knitted myself a poppy of remembrance and donated to the Royal British Legion.

Lest we forget

So I know it’s been a long time since my last post-  (no remembrance day pun intended), but next time I won’t leave it so long – I promise. My task this week is to teach a friend how to knit a poppy, start my second bootee and even knit my husband a scarf! For inspiration and amazing crafting ideas at the moment I’m following The Making Spot online and on Facebook because it’s fab and I always get really inspired when I check it out. Anyway, must get knitting – until next time, when I will post an am using picture of the first giant baby bootee for your amusement. 🙂

 
2 thoughts on “Six months later…..

  1. Pingback: 10 reasons why knitting is great | craftymum2be

Thanks for your comment and remember to follow this blog!

